Our guest judge, Lorna; Photography by Lorna

gracie-may-photography-23

Lorna is our guest judge for our ‘Smile’ week.  She’s an incredible photographer, her images are natural, beautiful and best of all, Lorna is home grown talent from right here in the UK!

Here’s Lorna’s full answers to our questions….

1.  How long have you been taking photographs and what inspired you to start?

I started photographing my siblings when I was 8.  I even dressed my brother in a skirt and put lipstick on him so he could be my model!  I will find that pic!  I saved my 50p pocket money to buy film and scrapbooked images I loved.  I never considered photography as a job, just something I liked to do.  I began taking photographs of my sisters children as they grew and then when I had my own, I hired photographers and always felt that my own snaps of my kids made my heart melt more.  After encouragement from some friends and family in 2011, I started my little in-home and on-location photography business.  I love photographing family, kids and newborns and I love to photograph my own babies. I have three sons and they are my inspiration for most everything I do.

FORINTHEDARKROOM004

2. Which camera and lens do you use the most?

I have a Nikon D3s and I love it, I love my 35mm 1.4 and I have just started to use a 70-200 2.8 for crazy Bokeh. I am mainly a prime lens girl but this zoom has won me over.

FORINTHEDARKROOM003

3. Name a photographer that inspires you…

Well this is hard because there are so many. I love Jean Smith and I have just spend a weekend with her in he US and learned so much from her. I love lifestyle and Susan Keller is so wonderful and her style is so free and full of energy, also Hillary Gould-Camilleri whose style is so fresh with tons of heart. I could go on and on and on about them all. Plus these are merely a few, there are so many more than this.

4. Tell me an obstacle that you’ve had to overcome….

The biggest obstacle to get over was myself. I would often get in my own way by allowing myself to feel that I was never good enough. That I did not deserve the title of “photographer” because I never studied It at college. That others may see my work and laugh. It took a while to put that aside and once I examined why I wanted to do this work, It helped me find my own style and then I stopped caring about all that other stuff so much. I was very liberating and freed me up to be more creative and push myself more.

Thank you for the opportunity to share this with you and it’s wonderful to be part of such a wonderful group of talented photographers here in the UK.

FORINTHEDARKROOM002

Leave a Reply

