GUEST BLOG SPOT – Tamryn Jones Photography

Bombarded with so very many wonderfully inspiring blog submissions again this week!  This is the first time we’ve been given a session focused entirely on self-portraits though, and I have to say, I’m very excited about sharing this talented lady with you!  I give you, Tamryn Jones Photography, 30 days of Self Portraits….!

https://www.facebook.com/tamrynjonesphotography

http://www.tamrynjones.com

“One of the many personal projects I intended to do this year was to do a series of self portraits. I started in January and then stopped. Tried again a few months later but the project never really got off the ground … till now. At the end of July I joined a group of inspiring photographers and fellow CMPros to do a 30 day project. {30 PHOTOS IN 30 DAYS with any theme}. I thought well this is the perfect opportunity to focus on getting these self portraits done and being accountable to these ladies daily is really what kept me going.

I found it pretty hard going. I won’t go into great personal detail but like most of us woman I have spent my entire adult life and pretty much all of my teens wrestling with conflicting feelings about my physical appearance. Of course as the years have passed common sense and maturity have replaced a lot of those silly notions and negativity … so my aim was to photograph me, Tammy, the person and not ache or whine about what I look like. I had no idea where I was going with these images to begin with; deep and dark or light and simple – I just went with whatever feeling hit me at the time. Some are definitely stronger than others but the awesome thing is that half way through the project I was honestly no longer looking out for my ‘flaws’ because I was so focused on creating an honest and compelling series. I actually began to enjoy the process.

There were some days where I wish I had more time to dedicate to the project. The kids were all home on their summer break and I didn’t really have a lot of opportunity to get out to specific locations or spend time planning or visualising the images. But I made the most of the time I had and the places that were available for me to shoot. (if my neighbours did not already think I was insane, they do now!!!!).

Sadly I lost my grandmother in the last week of July and her beautiful funeral service marks day 1 of this project. I think I have carried a reflective and sometimes sombre feeling throughout the 30 images and I purposely included little bits of her in some of them …. a crochet blanket, a bead necklace, flowers, curtains etc

I also had surgery on August 6th which impacted on the project quite a lot. I had a thyroid lobectomy. There is a lot to say about this and so many underlying emotions surrounding the big scare of the thyroid issue and then the surgery, but I won’t go into that now.

I’m happy I’ve completed the project. There are some images I really love here. It never really occurred to me that I could be my own subject and it’s kind of opened up a whole new door of possibility as a creative outlet. It’s pretty epic to me that I’m even posting these on my public blog.
Pinterest quote of the day? ……”

I AM
two of the most

powerful words.

For what you put

after them

shapes your reality.

I haven’t ordered them chronologically.

3,2,1 …GO!!!!

sp1 sp2 sp3 Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset sp5 Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset sp7 sp8 sp9 sp10 sp11 sp12 sp13 sp14 sp15 sp16 sp17 sp18 sp19 sp20 sp21 sp22 sp23 sp24 sp25 sp26 sp27 sp28 sp29 sp30

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “GUEST BLOG SPOT – Tamryn Jones Photography

  1. Julia Cooke says:

    So captivating. Such an inspiring post.

  2. Liz Godfrey says:

    Hi! Absolutely amazing images! Such a wonderful & inspiring read too!

  3. Lori says:

    Beautiful! I am starting a self-portrait journey myself and find this post very inspiring. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

